Twitter

Thermal analysis is an important area in the South African scientific and industrial landscape and services a diverse range of industries including mining, petrochemical, pharmaceutical, materials testing and much more. ThermSA is a division of SACI devoted to the development of thermal analysis skills in South Africa.

We are lucky to enjoy growing and continued support from all over South Africa but find it increasingly difficult to keep track of interested parties in order to better cater for their needs.

As a member of SACI, you are entitled to nominal membership of two divisions, which allows the division to regularly interact with members. In order to help us improve the service we deliver, please ensure to confirm with SACI that you have selected ThermSA as one of your divisions of choice. The easiest way to do this is to update your membership details using the following link:   http://www.saci.co.za/update_membership_details.html

Please take special note of our first members meeting, which will now be held regularly throughout the year.

Kind regards

The ThermSA Committee.

Instrumentation supplier contact details:

 

Instrument Type

Sales Representative

Service Engineer

IMP

Netszsch

Dashika Naidoo
dashika.naidoo@imp.co.za

 

Advance Lab

TA Instruments

Dave Perret
DaveP@advancedlab.co.za

Ross Burnham
RossB@advancedlab.co.za

Microsep

Mettler Toledo

Rudy Maliepaard
Rudy.Maliepaard@microsep.co.za

 

Shimadzu South Africa

Shimadzu

Michele  Paulus
Michele@shimadzu.co.za

Conference   Thothela
083 486 1719

A&J Scientific

Setaram

Adri Watkins
ajscientific@mweb.co.za

 

Wirsam

Cal2k

Selwyn Pietersen
Selwyn@wirsam.com

Ruan Ferreira      
ruan@wirsam.com

Perkin Elmer South Africa

Perkin Elmer

Chris de Jager
chris.dejager@perkinelmer.com

Stephen Varty
stephen.varty@perkinelmer.com

Poly-Test

Linseis

Peter O’Hare
peter@poly-test.co.za

 

 

Introduction to Thermal Analysis

Thermal analysis is a branch of materials science where the properties of materials are studied as they change with temperature.

Several methods are commonly used - these are distinguished from one another by the property which is measured:

Differential thermal analysis (DTA): temperature difference

Differential scanning calorimetry (DSC): heat difference

Thermogravimetric analysis (TGA): mass

Thermomechanical analysis (TMA): dimension

Dilatometry (DIL): volume

Dynamic mechanical analysis (DMA) : mechanical stiffness & damping

Dielectric thermal analysis (DEA): dielectric permittivity & loss factor

Evolved gas analysis (EGA) : gaseous decomposition products

Thermo-optical analysis(TOA) : optical properties

 

Simultaneous Thermal Analysis (STA) generally refers to the simultaneous application of Thermogravimetry (TGA) and Differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) to one and the same sample in a single instrument. The test conditions are perfectly identical for the TGA and DSC signals (same atmosphere, gas flow rate, vapor pressure of the sample, heating rate, thermal contact to the sample crucible and sensor, radiation effect, etc.). The information gathered can even be enhanced by coupling the STA instrument to an Evolved Gas Analyzer (EGA) like Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR) or Mass Spectometry (MS).

Common areas of application include:

•Biomaterials

•Food

•Pharmaceuticals

•Polymers & rubbers

•Glasses & ceramics

•Electrical components

•Building materials

•Catalysis

•Fossil fuels